4th Annual Grand Isle Juried Exhibition

This is a call to artists for entries for "Nurture/Nature" the 4th Annual Grand Isle Juried Exhibition with a postmark deadline of February 1, 2006 for slide entries.  The Prospectus is available on the website www.grandislecommunitydevelopmentteaminc.org.

The Exhibition will be held at the Grand Isle Community Center on Highway One, April 15-23, 2006 and is sponsored by Grand Isle Community Development Team, Inc., a not for profit organization, along with the Grand Isle Port Commission and the Town of Grand Isle.  The 9th Annual Grand Isle Migratory Bird Celebration also is held during that same week. 

The goals of the Exhibition are to raise awareness of coastal erosion through the artist’s eye and to encourage preservation of images of this island culture and its disappearing habitat for future generations with themes related to the natural beauty and potential loss of this barrier island and the surrounding wetlands. The Awards reception will be held April 23, 2006 featuring the presentation of Award for Best of Show ($1000) and three Awards of Excellence ($500 each).

Artist Bradley Sabin will serve as juror.  He received his BFA at The School of the Art Institute of Chicago and his MFA in Ceramics at LSU, Baton Rouge, La.  After having been Chief Preparator and Operations Manager at The Contemporary Art Center he is now Assistant Director at Arthur Roger Gallery in New Orleans.  He is represented by the Baton Rouge Gallery and the Soren Christensen Gallery, New Orleans.   Sabin has work currently in the exhibition “Made In New Orleans: A Survey of Contemporary Art from the Crescent City” at Space 301, Mobile Alabama until January 8th, 2006.
In previous years seventy entries each year from Louisiana artists as well as from artists across the nation were selected by Juror Jacqueline Bishop, Juror Adrian Deckbar and by Juror Allison Stewart, all nationally known New Orleans artists.  The jurors were very pleased by the visual inventiveness of many of the entries and feel that it will become one of the most comprehensive art exhibitions in the south. Carlos Luis Zervigon, Dennis Sipiorski, Delaina LeBlanc, Melissa Smith, Claire Fenton, Craig Berthold, Melissa K. Turner, Darlene Bigus-Doheny and  Krista Roche are some of the artists that received awards.

For information and group booking contact Sue Galliano, 504-915-0382 suegalliano@mobiletel.com
Text Box: This program is supported by a grant from the Louisiana Division of the Arts, Office of Cultural Development, Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, in cooperation with the   Louisiana State Arts Council as administered by the Arts Council of New Orleans.clip2click here for prospectus